buhariPresident Muhammadu Buhari has finally sacked his Service Chiefs after many cries from various quarters for this action. The President has appointed replacements to take charge of the Nation’s major Military formations and security.

President Buhari appointed the following officers to head the various security agencies: Maj Gen LEO Irabor, CDS; Maj Gen I Attahiru, Army; Rear Adm AZ Gambo, Navy and AVM IO Alao, Air Force.

Meanwhile, President Buhari who charged the new chiefs to perform better than their predecessors, however, congratulated the outgoing Service Chiefs on their efforts to in trying to secure the country.

President Buhari has ordered the compulsory retirement of the sacked service chiefs.

President Buhari is changing the guard for the 1st time since becoming C-In-C in 2015.

The sack and new appointment of the president was made know to newsmen in a report by the president’s aide, Femi Adesina.


President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

Those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urges them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.

Femi Adesina

Special Adviser to the President

(Media and Publicity)

January 26, 2021″

Facebook Comments